Light Coming Through a Window

Light Coming Through a Window

 

Light coming through a window

You take me to a place

Of memories long ago

 Not Just a reflection on my face but a feeling in my soul

You trigger warmth and comfort, but sometimes unsure feelings of a distant memory gone.

Light coming through a window

Where is it that you take me? Sometimes I am unsure

Is it kindergarten classroom or kitchen table at grandmas on a warm and sunny day?

Or is it childhood neighbor’s house or the light from my old home

 Where mom’s voice can still be heard in the ray of light that still is shown?

Light coming through a window

It can come at any time, it can come from anywhere

It can come from any angle; windows high or low

 Sometimes in the floor beneath my feet

 In between a wooden panel unaligned; oh yes to you fond memory, I do remember you

The time I had a slumber party in the attic room

 With all my friends; our sleeping bags aligned,

 Where laughter and silent snickers bellowed from these walls

 Just before mom and dad and gave their final shushing call

Oh… light coning through a window

Thank you for this memory I might not have ever had thought again

Had your light not found and stopped me in my hurried state of mind

Light coming through a window

Or outside behind the shadow of a tree

You’re always welcome here, where your memories run free

Sometime I know not what you say; maybe I’m amidst a new memory being played

But I will always stop to listen, just in case you want to speak

 You see, memories triggered are not just from food

Or the sound of music known to create a mood

But a silent observation, a warmth upon the skin

 Or a feeling or a memory that made an impact on the soul

Light coming through a window

You take me back; I have to stare, just to feel your whisper upon my golden locks of hair.

 

Author: Lynette Barrett August 2, 2013

 

Leave a Reply

